Research how we connect with the material given to us by media

It gives a sense of community or a collective. We watch things live as it is something to be done as a way to interlink.

We have value judgement, are we learning from what we are watching.

for example my addiction to anime

‘Checking in’ (from Bertel 2014)

  • ‘I think sometimes it is ridiculous because people have begun to check in [at] ‘lying in my wonderful bed’. Yeah, like anyone asked you! I am too, for God’s sake! Am I supposed to tell you like when I am lying . . . when I am in … .Am I supposed to tell you when I am taking a crap? [laughs]. Like ‘In the toilet taking a crap’. Checking in at the toilet. It is ridiculous and doesn’t make sense to check in all the time’.

‘I have seen it on Facebook when people post it. ‘Then I am here’ and ‘then I am there’ and I think that is so silly! I don’t want to know where people are. And why would you want to know? If I wanted to know and if the person wanted me to know

This Meme can be seen as a way to show people that although we are constantly telling each other what we are doing in everyday lives it still doesn’t mean that it is not something we all want to know.

2016 Ofcom  looking

Ofcom’s Media Lives study: some key findings wave 11:

  • Over two-thirds of the participating households now have television sets that are connected to the internet.
  • Streaming services continue to play an increasingly prominent role in participants’ viewing.
  • Radio continues to be an important medium for some of the participants aged 25+.
  • Interest in user-generated content continues to grow.
  • The vast majority of our sample now use at least some government services online.
  • The smartphone continues to be the most important piece of media technology for most of our participants.
  • Tablets continue to be widely owned and used, but in some households, they are less important than they were a year ago.
  • Social media platforms (especially Facebook) are becoming an increasingly important source of news.
  • Most participants claim to routinely avoid television advertising.
